Officers and Board of Directors


Simon F.T. Tang, M.D.
Chairman, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Linkou, Taiwan

Past President:

Keith Tansey, M.D., Ph.D.
Departments of Neurology and Physiology, Emory University School of Medicine
Spinal Cord Injury Clinic, Atlanta Veterans Administration Medical Center


Dobrivoje S. Stokic, M.D., D.Sc.
Senior Scientist and Director of Research
Methodist Rehabilitation Center, Jackson, Mississippi


W. Barry McKay, M.S.
Research Scientist, Shepherd Center, Atlanta, Georgia

Treasurer McKay, Past President Tansey and Founder Dimitrijevic at a 2011 White House SCI event organized by Executive Director Sherwood

Board Members

Nils Andresen,
Foundation for Movement Recovery
Oslo, Norway

Justin M. Brown, M.D.
Co-Director of the Center for Neurophysiology and Restorative Neurology
Division of Neurosurgery, University of California at San Diego School of Medicine, San Diego, California

David X. Cifu, M.D.
Chairman and Herman J. Flax, M.D. Professor
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0677

Milan R. Dimitrijevic, M.D., D.Sc.
Professor Emeritus, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas

Byron Kakulas, M.D. F.R.A.C.P. F.R.C.P.A. F.R.C.Path.
Australian Neuromuscular Research Institute
Nedlands, Western Australia

Members and visitors at Board meeting, Melbourne, 15 May, 2012

Janez Zidar, M.D., Ph.D.
Institute of Clinical Neurology
Ljubljana, Slovenia

Executive Director:
Arthur M. Sherwood, P.E., Ph.D.
Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors shall consist of not less than four (4) nor more than eleven (11) persons. The board shall by resolution from time to time determine the maximum and minimum number of directors. The term of office of the directors shall be two (2) years. Members of the Board of directors whose full terms expire shall be eligible for reelection. Those filling unexpired terms are eligible for election to a full term.